Headline: TSPS Conference a Texas-sized Success

The Texas Society of Professional Surveyors held its 62nd Annual Convention and Tech Expo at the Sheraton Arlington Hotel and Convention Center. More than 700 surveyors, venders, and guests attended the event.

The exhibit hall was packed with a cross-section of new surveying technology and equipment. Numerous seminars were presented by nationally known speakers Gary Kent, Dennis Mouland, Jeff Lucas, and Bill Beardslee.

There were several interesting social events, including the annual luncheon where J.B. Smith of Tyler, Texas, the longest continually sitting sheriff in the US, entertained the gathering with interesting stories and his hilarious down-home humor. The ice-breaker cocktail party offered a chance to meet new friends and enjoy fine food and grog, along with the great decorations by the TSPS Auxiliary, which also held a program including a tour of Cowboy Stadium.

The Masquerade Ball was the formal event of the conference. Everyone wore interesting masks, many of which were supplied by the Auxiliary. The evening included the installation of incoming president Shane Neally of Tyler, and his officers, by NSPS president Lamar Evers. Several awards were given, including Chapter President of the Year Award to Manny Carrizales; Vern Wayne Hanan Memorial Community Action Award to Don King; Surveyor of the Year Award to Henry Kuehlem; Hugh L. George Memorial Award to Jerry Cutts; Eminent Educator of the Year Award to John Pierce; and Young Surveyor of the Year Award to Robert Tamez.

The 63rd Annual Conference will be in Houston October 15-18, 2014.


Series Navigation<< Federal Government Shutdown: Its Effect on Surveyors and Alternate Resources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *